Founders Luncheon

About the Founders Luncheon

Established in 2014 as the Founder’s Award Luncheon, the Community Foundation’s signature annual event was launched as an opportunity to convene our donors and nonprofit partners on important issues facing our region, and to celebrate their collective impact.

In addition to raising awareness, the Founders Luncheon showcases the importance of philanthropy with a special award ceremony. Each year, the McIntosh Award – named after Winsome and Michael McIntosh, who founded the Community Foundation in 1972 – is presented to an individual or organization who has made significant contributions to our community.

This Year’s Event

11th Annual Founders Luncheon
February 28, 2024
11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Kravis Center for the Performing Arts, West Palm Beach

With nearly half of Palm Beach and Martin County third graders reading below grade level, the Community Foundation is leading “Hope for Early Education” alongside the donors, nonprofit partners, and community members who are dedicated to transforming children’s literacy — together. Join us.

George T. Elmore, Founder, Hardrives, Inc. will be the 2024 McIntosh Award recipient.

Registration will open in November 2023.

Past Founders Luncheons
seedling icon

Keynote Speaker:
Winsome McIntosh, national philanthropist, founder of the Community Foundation for Palm Beach and Martin Counties
Awardees: Marjorie S. Fisher and Julie Fisher Cummings

seedling icon

Keynote Speaker:
Ann Christiano, Frank and Betsy Karel Endowed Chair in Public Interest Communications at the University of Florida
Awardee: William M. Matthews

seedling icon

Keynote Speaker:
Dr. Robert Avossa, School District of Palm Beach County Superintendent
Awardees: The Mary and Robert Pew Public Education Fund

seedling icon

Keynote Speaker:
Alberto Ibargüen, President and CEO, Knight Foundation
Awardees: The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

seedling icon

Keynote Speaker:
Rip Rapson, President and CEO, Kresge Foundation
Awardees: Lore and John Dodge

seedling icon

Keynote Speaker:
Carol R. Naughton, President, Purpose Built Communities

seedling icon

Power of Place - A Conversation on Housing
Speakers: Hollani Davis, Anchor, WPTV

  • Jonathan B. Brown, Director, Palm Beach County Department of Housing and Economic Sustainability
  • Suzanne Cabrera, President and CEO, Housing Leadership Council of Palm Beach County
  • The Honorable Anne Gerwig, Mayor, Village of Wellington
  • Jack Weir, Eastwind Development Group
seedling icon

Building Pathways to Equity & Prosperity
Speakers: Eric Kelly, President, Quantum Foundation

  • Ava L. Parker, President, Palm Beach State College
  • Suzanne Cabrera, President and CEO, Housing Leadership Council of Palm Beach County
  • The Honorable Steve B. Wilson, Mayor, City of Belle Glade
  • Daryl K. Houston, Senior Community Impact Officer, Community Foundation for Palm Beach and Martin Counties
  • Fabiola Brumley, Palm Beach County President and Vice Chairman Business Banking, Bank of America

Awardee: Sofia F., 6-year-old Community Advocate Star

seedling icon

Golden Anniversary Celebration
Guest of Honor: Winsome McIntosh, Co-Founder, Community Foundation for Palm Beach and Martin Counties
Keynote Speaker: John Palfrey, President, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
Awardee: John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

seedling icon

Hope for Mental Health
Keynote Speaker: Dr. Randy Blakely, Executive Director, FAU Stiles-Nicholson Brain Institute
Awardee: Margaret C. Donnelley, Philanthropic Champion for Mental Health

seedling icon

Hope for Early Education
Awardee: George T. Elmore